Site search
Login button Registration button

New Chair for APPG


21 Oct 16

Seema Kennedy MP has been elected as the new Chair of the All Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on Credit Unions.

She takes over from Robin Walker MP who stood down from the position following his appointment as Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Department for Exiting the European Union in July. Under Parliamentary rules, a Government Minister cannot also be a member of an APPG.

Seema Kennedy (pictured) is the Conservative Member of Parliament for South Ribble, and she had previously worked as a lawyer in the City of London and for her family's property business in Lancashire. Seema joined the APPG upon her election to Parliament last year and is a member of her local credit union. She has taken a particular interest in the growth and opportunities for credit unions in her constituency and across the country.

Seema immediately performed her first duties as Chair by hosting the Parliamentary reception for International Credit Union Day in the Palace of Westminster’s Churchill Room.

Seema Kennedy said:  “Credit Unions are a fantastic concept and have the potential to benefit so many of my constituents. I am keen to be involved in helping them reach the levels of penetration seen in other countries and improving awareness of the schemes available”.

The APPG on Credit Unions has over 150 members from across the parties and from both the House of Commons and the House of Lords. The Group’s Vice Chairs are Jim Fitzpatrick MP (Labour, Poplar & Limehouse), Peter Grant MP (SNP, Glenrothes), Mark Durkan MP (SDLP, Foyle) and Labour Peer Lord Kennedy. The Secretary is Yvonne Fovargue MP (Labour, Makerfield), and the Treasurer is Chris Evans MP (Labour & Co-operative, Islwyn). 

The Group meets several times a year to discuss issues affecting the credit union movement, and it seeks to raise awareness and build consensus and political support for the movement’s development and growth.

Back Back to news listing