Site search
Login button Registration button

Tracy Slane Award nominations open


13 Jan 17

Nominations are being invited for the 2017 Tracy Slane Award, which recognises outstanding young people in the credit union movement.

The award is presented each year to recognise the contribution of a young person who has demonstrated a personal commitment to, and the ability to significantly influence, their credit union. It is dedicated to the memory of Tracy Slane, who worked as ABCUL’s Conference Officer until her untimely death in 2004 at the age of 25.

The 2017 Award will be presented at the ABCUL Annual Conference, which is being held in Manchester on 10 and 11 March. Part of the prize is a fully funded place at the Annual Conference, including accommodation and travel.

To be eligible for the Tracy Slane Award, individuals must:

  • Be 35 years of age or younger on 1 January 2017.
  • Demonstrate personal commitment and the ability to significantly influence their credit union.
  • Exhibit the potential to advance their credit union system.
  • Be actively involved either as an employee or officer with an ABCUL member credit union.

The winner will be chosen by the Trustees of The Credit Union Foundation. From an exceptional group of nominees, the Trustees decided that last year’s award should be shared by Kirsty Gallagher of Central Liverpool Credit Union and Danny Thomas of Norwich Credit Union (both pictured).

A brochure with more details and a nomination form is being circulated to ABCUL members, and it is hoped some of the outstanding young people who are making a real difference to credit unions up and down the country will be put forward for this award.

This year’s ABCUL Annual Conference will also see the first presentation of the Kirit Patel Award for Outstanding Contribution to an ABCUL Forum. Kirit Patel served as a Director of NFRN Credit Union and as an Officer of ABCUL's London and South East Forum until his death in November 2015.

The award is generously supported by the National Federation of Retail Newsagents and NFRN Credit Union in memory of Kirit Patel, and ABCUL Forum Executives around Britain have been asked to nominate people who have made a significant positive difference for credit unions through their local ABCUL Forum by 31 January 2017.

Back Back to news listing