Site search
Login button Registration button

CU Futures 2017/18 launches


11 May 17

The new class of candidates for CU Futures has met in Manchester to begin the programme.

CU Futures is the innovative programme run in partnership by ABCUL and the Credit Union Foundation and sponsored by Citi Foundation to support and develop young people across the British credit union movement.

Launched in 2016, the first class of CU Futures graduated at this year’s ABCUL Annual Conference, and the new intake spent two days in Manchester this week getting to know each other, learning more about the year-long programme, and hearing presentations from senior members of the ABCUL staff team.

Over the next 12 months, the new class of CU Futures will attend the ABCUL Policy Summit with the Association’s Board in June, participate in the International Credit Union Day celebration at Westminster in October, complete The Pacific Institute's High Performance Culture programme and receive media and communications training with broadcaster and journalist Liz Barclay.

The CU Futures will also complete a bespoke learning pathway in the ABCUL Academy, study for the London Institute of Banking and Finance’s Certificate in Credit Union Professional Conduct and complete a collaborative group project before graduating at the 2018 ABCUL Annual Conference.

ABCUL Chief Executive Mark Lyonette met the new class of CU Futures at the programme launch and said: “We are so pleased to have had some fantastic applications that demonstrate passion and enthusiasm from young people across our member credit unions, and we look forward to working with all the new CU Futures throughout the programme and their future careers.

“Developing and retaining young people is vital to the sustainability of British credit unions, and the new intake will join the graduates from last year’s CU Futures class to build a network to strengthen and grow the sector going forward.”

Congratulations and good luck to all the participants in the CU Futures 2017/18 programme, who are:

Jodie Bastable (Pennine Community Credit Union)
Tom Brockley (Darlington Credit Union)
Matthew Butler (FAIRshare Credit Union)
Nicola Dobson (NHS Credit Union)
Lori Forsyth (East Kilbride Credit Union)
Lauren Humphris (The Pentecostal Credit Union)
Mikey Jones (Police Credit Union)
Toni Lynn (Enterprise Credit Union)
Luke McGilvray (1st Class Credit Union)
Andrew Moulding (Blackpool, Fylde & Wyre Credit Union)
Shannon  Scott  (Mosshill Credit Union)
Rizwan Shams (Cardiff & Vale Credit Union)
Gillian Stewart (Parkhead Credit Union)
Gemma Thomson (Greenwich & Bexley Credit Union)
Dean Timmins (Commsave Credit Union)

Back Back to news listing